Connecticut Farm Bureau and the American Farm Bureau Federation were both formed in 1919 with the goal of making farming more profitable and to promote agriculture. The first two county Farm Bureaus in Connecticut were Fairfield and Litchfield both formed in 1915. The founders of Connecticut Farm Bureau understood the strength and effectiveness of farmers working together for the common good.